Sheldon ISD Trustees Selected as a Finalist for Outstanding School Board

The annual School Board Awards Program has recognized board members for their commitment to students and their communities for nearly 50 years. 

“This is such an amazing achievement, and I could not be more proud,” said Superintendent King Davis, Ed.D. “They have raised our district’s expectations and challenged Sheldon ISD for continuous improvement, while always focused on what is best for children.”

In July, the board was named ESC Region 4 School Board of the Year. Region 4 serves the greater Houston area and is the largest of the 20 education service center regions in Texas. The 2019-20 board members are: President Latricia Archie, Vice-President Eileen Palmer, Secretary Angela Cormier, Member Ken Coleman, Member Erika Martinez, Member Devora Myles and Member Fred Rivas. During the past five years, Sheldon trustees have faced tropical storms, hurricanes and a pandemic. Under their governance, they have:

  • Helped increase Sheldon ISD’s fund balance, while lowering the overall tax rate by two cents
  • Supported the district’s focus on accountability improvement measures, raising the district’s overall rating from a “C” to a “B”
  • Assisted with efforts to introduce new programs such as Compass Schools (consisting of Performing and Visual Arts, STEM and High Technology), STEM programs at both middle schools and six academies at the high school (business and industry, human services, public service, agriculture, manufacturing and construction, STEAM and early college high school)

“Each one of our members is invested in this community and the children and families we serve,” Dr. Davis said. “They recognize the importance of providing an environment that creates personalized learning experiences for every learner.” 

As one of five Texas Honor Boards, Sheldon school board members will be interviewed at the annual TASA/Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Convention September 30-October 2 where one school board will be selected as the 2020 Outstanding School Board. Sheldon trustees will be recognized as an Honor Board Finalist during a general session at the TASA/TASB Convention this fall.